Tuesday, 8 July 2014

Sports Awards Evening A Huge Success!

At Arthur Terry we are fortunate to have such enthusiastic and passionate students when it comes to Sport. This years' Sports Awards evening looked to build upon the fantastic success of last years awards, and it certainly did that!

The awards took place on Thursday 3rd July at Arthur Terry School.The Awards are designed to recognise some of the outstanding effort and achievement our students apply to our subject area, whether this be through their talent, sporting success, effort, determination or resilience. 

The PE Department were joined on the evening by Associate Headteachers Mr Gill and Mr Warner, as well as Faculty Leader Mr Jordan. 

Details of this year's award winners can be found below, along with some images from the evening!

Sportsperson of the year 7
M - Harry Brophy
F - Anusha Chauhan

Harry Brophy with Mr Warner and Mr Gill. 
Sportsperson of the year 8
M - Joseph Maguire
F - Fabrianna Brown

Sportsperson of the year 9
M - Harry Palmer
F - Chloe Harrison

Chloe Harrison with Mr Warner and Mr Gill.

Sportsperson of the year 10
M - Scott McCombe
F - Molly Shuttleworth

Sportsperson of the year 11
M - Max Craven
F - Georgina Longhorne

Max Craven, winning this particular award for the second consecutive year!
GCSE Excellence – year 9
Daniel Kamel

GCSE Progress – year 9
Kyriacos Iezekiel

GCSE Excellence – year 10
Becky Parsons

Becky Parsons scooped two awards. Here she is pictured winning the GCSE Excellence Award for Year 10!
GCSE Progress – year 10
Max Harvey

GCSE Excellence – year 11
Elliott Walker

GCSE Progress – year 11
Tom Hartland

A-level Excellence – year 12
Natassja Longstaff

Natassja Longstaff winning the A-Level Excellence Award for Year 12.
A-level Progress – year 12
Rhys Walker

Sports Team of the Year - Year 9 Football Team
Dylan Mandaracas, Jack Pearson, Jack Logan, Harry Palmer, James Burdock, Oliver Lewis, Matthew Thomas, Harry Swift, Styliano Fatta, Qeyrhan Coughlan-Haywood,  Josiah Francis, Reece Hutchinson, Daniel Taylor, Samuel Watts 

Our Double-Winning Year 9 Football Team. The team scooped the Sutton, Erdington and Saltley District Cup as well as the Birmingham Schools Cup, the final of which was held at Villa Park! Congratulations to all involved.

Sports Official of the Year
Hannah Cook – Y9

The extremely talented Hannah Cook won the Sports Official of the Year Award. Hannah has an incredible talent in the form of her leadership skills. Her communication skills are exceptional and she sets an outstanding example to those around her. Well done Hannah for all of your hard work this year!
National Sporting Honours
Becky Parsons                                                         
(U18 GB Ultimate Frisbee & Vice Captain)

Mr Gill rounded off the evening with a very appropriate speech, recognising not only the fantastic achievement of our students but also our hard-working PE staff. He went on to thank all of the winners families for their ongoing support and congratulated those award winners on an extremely successful year!

1 comment: